Indiana High School Athletic Association

9150 North Meridian Street, Box 40650, Indianapolis, Indiana 46240-0650

Phone: 317-846-6601    Fax: 317-575-4244    Website:

Blake Ress, Commissioner


June 1, 2007



A crowd of 4,917 saw Warren Central run away with the IHSAA boy’s state title at the Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex in Bloomington for the second year in a row. The Warriors scored 53 points followed by second place finisher Ben Davis who scored 42.5 points. The Warriors of Warren Central are led by Coach Dennis McNulty. 


Bryce Brown of Evansville Harrison took the crown in the 110 hurdles in a time of 13.69. He won the event in 2005, but failed to repeat in 2006. Brown also won the 300 hurdles with a time of 36.26 breaking his own state meet record of 36.34 in 2005. Brown is a five time individual state champion winning the 300 hurdles the last three years and the 110 hurdles twice. He contributed 29 of Harrison’s 30 total points.


Twenty years after his father won state in pole vault, Corey Shank of Fort Wayne Northrop cleared 17 feet in capturing the state crown and breaking the IHSAA state record. The previous record was held by Paul Gensic of Carroll (Fort Wayne) and Matt Campbell of White River Valley who cleared 16-9 in 2001.


In the 100 meter run Shane Crawford of Winamac won in a time of 10.51. Soaring to a height of 6-11, Tyrone McKinney of Fort Wayne North Side won the state crown in the high jump.


In the discus Josh Greenwald of Decatur Central defended his state title winning with a heave of 188-3. Another repeat champion came in the 800 meter run as Dan Stockberger claimed the title with a time of 1:52.67.


In the final race of the day, Gary West Side’s 1600 meter relay team came out blazing in the first of three heats and won the event by three seconds over the second place finisher.



Fort Wayne Snider’s Samuel Lewis Awarded The Robert S. Hinshaw Mental Attitude Award

Members of the IHSAA Executive Committee announced Samuel Lewis of Fort Wayne’s Snider High School as the winner of this year’s Robert S. Hinshaw Mental Attitude Award in Boys Track and Field.


Lewis finished fourth in the 800 meter run in this year’s state finals. He competed in track and cross country all four years.


Academically, he owns a 4.43 GPA and is the Valedictorian of his senior class of 446 and has been an honor roll student throughout his high school career. The last two years, he has been the vice president of the National Honor Society. Lewis was also a nominee for the 2007 Wendy’s High School Heisman Award.


Lewis will attend Xavier University on scholarship to run track and cross country. As a Musketeer he plans on studying business. Samuel is the son of Marc and Frances Lewis of Fort Wayne.


Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the proud corporate partner of all IHSAA tournaments, presented a $1,000 scholarship to Snider High School in Lewis’s name.


State Champions

Pole Vault – Corey Shank, 10, Fort Wayne Northrop, 17-0. State Meet Record

Long JumpTraquincey Wilson, 11, Lawrence North, 23-6.5.

Discus – Josh Greenwald, 12, Decatur Central, 188-3.

High Jump – Tyrone McKinney, 12, Fort Wayne North Side, 6-11.

Shot Put – Ben Stephen, 12, Union County, 64-11.

3200 Relay – Franklin Central (Jordan Mitchell 12, Adam Green 12, Tommy Mullen 12, Tyler Ernstberger 12) 7:46.34.

110 Hurdles – Bryce Brown, 12, Evansville Harrison, 13.69.

100 Meters – Shane Crawford, 12, Winamac, 10.51.

1600 MetersDe’Sean Turner, 12, Warren Central, 4:08.34.

400 Relay – Ben Davis (Cornel Stewart 12, Matthew Terrell 10, Lavarus Williams 11, Rapheal Williams 11), 42.09.

400 Meters – Robert Gardner, 11, Gary Wallace, 47.18.

300 Hurdles – Bryce Brown, 12, Evansville Harrison, 36.26. State Meet Record

800 Meters – Dan Stockberger, 12, McCutcheon, 1:52.67.

200 Meters – Matthew Terrell, 10, Ben Davis, 21.59.

3200 Meters – Mike Fout, 11, LaPorte, 9:03.49.

1600 RelayGary West Side (Eugene Ellis 12, Brandon Wesby 11, Durrell Hughes 11, Terrell Green 12), 3:15.38.


Top 10 Teams


Warren Central



Ben Davis



Franklin Central



Lawrence North



Evansville Harrison









Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger



Gary West Side



Union County